Browse

SYNOPSIS

Sulari Gentill

Book 6 in the Rowland Sinclair Mystery Series.

The black sheep of a wealthy 1930s grazier dynasty, gentleman artist Rowland Sinclair often takes matters into his own hands. When the matter is murder, there are consequences.

For nearly fourteen years, Rowland has tried to forget, but now the past has returned.

A newly-discovered gun casts light on a family secret long kept... a murder the Sinclairs would prefer stayed unsolved.

As old wounds tear open, the dogged loyalty of Rowland's inappropriate companions is all that stands between him and the consequences of a brutal murder... one he simply failed to mention.

"... amazingly prolific author... in a style that has been compared with Evelyn Waugh... she has been likened to master-plotter Agatha Christie..." - The Australia

Showing 4 of 11 reviews | Show all

REVIEWS

The Sydney Morning Herald

"Sulari Gentill likes to tease, blithely slotting real people and events into a crime series set in the 1930s relating the fictional adventures of artist and gentleman of leisure, Rowland Sinclair...the sixth book in the series and by far the most interesting...As always, every chapter opens with a relevant snippet from a periodical of the time. Once again, telling the fictional from the real is part of the fun....Clever Gentill. Investigating the past has never been more fun."

Read more ›

Herald Sun

Herald Sun's top crime pick of 2014 - "Fans of Sherlock Holmes and Agatha Christie will love Gentill's novel, the sixth in the intelligent and amusing Rowland Sinclair series set in 1930s Australia."

 

Read more ›

The Sydney Morning Herald

"An enthralling continuation of an excellent Australian series, this is a great historical mystery set during an interesting Australian period. A must read for fans of either genre."

Read more ›

Glam Adelaide

"Gentill’s book is much more than a very readable murder mystery – it is also a highly entertaining social commentary with well researched historical detail...A Murder Unmentioned is worthy of a great deal of mention. It is an easy and interesting read that does not rely on one having read the other five in the series. That being said, however, I am going to definitely track them down – as I am hooked."

Read more ›

Booktopia

'The Rowland Sinclair series is my absolute favourite Australian historical crime series. Miss Phryne Fisher is all well and good but give me Rowly Sinclair, gentleman, adventurer, artist, detective and reluctant hero!...Perfect for fans of classic crime writers like Agatha Christie, Dorothy L. Sayers and Ngaio Marsh, I truly adore the Rowland Sinclair series and cannot recommend it highly enough!'

Read more ›

Fair Dinkum Crime

'...I am running out of superlatives with which to gush like a schoolgirl intelligently describe this enchanting series...In short then there is nothing not to like about A MURDER UNMENTIONED...a thoughtful, intelligent and amusing story that rips along at a cracking pace...A MURDER UNMENTIONED is highly recommended reading.'

Read more ›

AustCrimeFiction

"...strong plots, and wonderful characters...  The humour is perfect, the situations believable, and the clues to solving the mystery are there for anyone who wants to play along... there is so much wonderful reading in the entire series."

Read more ›

Abbey's Bookshop

"...the sixth novel in this warm series, Sulari Gentill takes us into the darkest corners of the pastoral nobility that is the Sinclair family. The characters of Rowland Sinclair and his brother Wil emerge even more strongly defined as the tensions and drama unfold. Another corker!"

Read more ›

Reading Kills

"There is something so completely delicious about Rowland Sinclair and his louche band of comrades...

With cameo appearances from historical figures ...and a real sense of fun to the book alongside some quite genuine tension, this is historical crime for those in the know and those—like me—who can barely remember what happened last weekend..."

Read more ›

Newtown Review of Books

"...the ensemble cast of friends and family are all deftly moved through a plot that actually makes you wonder for a moment whether Gentill is starting to enjoy placing her central character in extremes...you can clearly see why it was shortlisted for the prestigious Ned Kelly Award."

Read more ›

Sulari Gentill in Conversation with Emily Maguire at Ashfield Libraries

Join female writing powerhouses, Sulari Gentill and Emily Maguire,... Read more...

Join Our Team - Marketing Manager/Senior Marketing Manager (Full time)

Pantera Press are recruiting a commercially driven and digitally... Read more...

Join Our Team - Commercial Non-Fiction Commissioning Role (Full Time)

Pantera Press are recruiting a visionary person with commercial ... Read more...