The Pantera Press 2024 Gift Guide


 

Need a last minute present for mum? Something fun for the kids? Or maybe it’s a trip to the bookstore to treat yourself – Pantera Press has you sorted!

The Fiction Reader

For the fabulous fiction reader in your life, we love Nadine Cohen’s Everyone & Everything – a powerful novel about grief and the life that comes after loss. There’s also the Bitter & Sweet by Amal Awad, that follows burned-out chef Zeina as she takes leave from her prestigious restaurant to care for her ailing father, immersing herself in the familiar foods and flavours of her childhood, trying to save both him and his restaurant. And for the fantasy-fiction lover in your life, The Branded Season duology by Jo Riccioni is the perfect epic saga, with explosive ideas around gender and class, served up with romance, conflict and quick-fire narrative pace.

Crime Connoisseur

Know someone who loved Miss Fisher’s Murder Mysteries? From screenwriter Elizabeth Coleman comes the new Ted Bristol mysteries – delightfully sharp and clever murder mystery, perfect for fans of Richard Osman’s The Thursday Murder Club. catch up with A Routine Infidelity before the second instalment, A Dance With Murder, hits shelves this January.

An utterly addictive read, After the Smoke Clears by Kylie Kaden is full of intrigue and mystery with captivating characters and twists that will keep you guessing until the final page.

The History Buff

We love Sasha Wasley’s Snapshots From Home, set in 1917 – three years into the Great War, as Edie takes up a teaching post in the small Australian town of York. Mourning the loss of her beloved brother on the Front and evading her father’s plans for a respectable marriage, she’s glad to keep busy teaching at Miss Raison’s School for Girls. After a little persuasion, Edie agrees to take part in a comfort scheme sending photos of home to the troops – but she’s soon thrown her the path of the family secrets, scandals and class complexities of her new town – and a handsome, exasperating man her father would never approve of.

A different kind of history for the intimately curious: Kinky History explores scandalous stories in the ancient world and the saucy secrets of famous figures. From TikTok sensation Esmé Louise James, this is a book to shock and delight, that explore how How has the idea of sin shaped our sex lives, our hidden queer histories, and so much more.

For the kids

The the big kids, come along as Lynette Noni journeys back to the world of Medora with Kaldoras: set five years after the conclusion to the beloved series – catch up with fan-favourite characters and revisit the magic that captivated the readers across the world. For the little kids who love gross stuff, Dan Marshall will delight with foul facts and putrid pictures in Eww Gross – perfect for both reluctant readers and the devoutly curious, this is the perfect read for young readers who like a little humour with their books. Pint-sized history lovers will also love Beverley McWillams’ Spies in the Skies – the true story of the pigeons who went to war, and how their helping was key to carrying out rescues and secret missons.